Asian Connection (digital download)

9.99 8.99

The wide-ranging set features the trumpeter with a top-notch rhythm section from Malaysia, and two outstanding artist from Taiwan. The result is a stimulating set that includes aaspects of Asian music while retaining its roots in swinging hard bop.

SKU: AC download Category: Tags: ,


Recognised by the prestigious online magazine Latin Jazz Network as ‘a shape-shifting musician and instrumentalist’, Michael Simon has developed into a protean trumpeter, composer, arranger and interpreter of international prominence and significance.

The realization that music is a universal language that connects and unites people regardless of their race, background and culture, has led Michael to explore Asian music and incorporate those elements in his current realm of work. When Latin rhythms are fused into Asian melodies, colored by jazz sounds and harmonies, Michael realizes that the music he created, particularly his most recent works, frequently goes in surprising directions and transcends the music genres in the present time. That is widely evident in his latest release ‘Destiny’s Will’.

On his newest project ‘Asian Connection’, Michael teams up with saxophonist Terry Hsieh, one of the most active saxophonist in Taiwan, and is backed up by a strong Malaysian rhythm section comprising of Michael Veerapen on piano, Daniel Foong on bass and John Thomas on drums. Further, the presence of Chung Yufeng on the Pipa will add a flare of spice to the already colorful palette “Asian Connection’ and is set to lead the band into uncharted musical waters.


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…